Indian History Important Days

1634 The English permitted to trade in India (in Bengal).
1659 Accession of Aurangzeb, Shahjahan imprisoned.
1665 Shivaji’ imprisoned by Aurangzeb.
1666 Death of Shahjagan.
1675 Execution of Guru Teg Bahadur, the 9th Guru of Sikhs.
1680 Death of Sivaji.
1707 Death of Aurangzeb.
1708 Death of Guru Gobind Singh, the 10th Guru of Sikhs.
1739 Nadir Shah invades India.
1757 Battle of Plassey, establishment of British political rule in India at the hands of Lord Clive.
1761 Third Battle of Panipat.
1764 Battle of Buxar.
1765 Clive appointed Company’s Governor in India.
1767-69 First Angle Mysore War.
1780 Birth of Maharaja Ranjit Singh.
1780-84 Second Anglo Mysore War.
1784 Pitt’s India Act.
1790-92 Third Anglo Mysore War.
1793 The Permanent Settlement of Bengal.
1799 Fourth Anglo Mysore War; Death of Tipu Sultan.
1802 Treaty of Bassein.
1809 Treaty of Amristar.
1829 Practice of Sati prohibited.
1830 Raja Rammohan Roy visits England.
1833 Death of Raja Rammohan Roy at Bristol, England.
1839 Death of Maharaja Ranjit Singh.
1839-42 First Anglo-Afghan War.
1845-46 First Anglo-Sikh War.
1852 Second Anglo Burmese War
1853 First Railway line opened between Bombay and Thane and a Telegraph line in Calcutta.
1857 The Sepoy Mutiny or First War of Independence.
1861 Birth of Rabindranath Tagore.
1869 Birth of Mahatma Gandhi.

123 45 Page 4 of 5